Wonky Houses Swap

A few weeks ago I posted about a Wonky House Swap that I was involved with on Facebook. (You can check that post out here.) The only problem was that when it came time to post the Wonky House off to my partner, not only did I realise that I had accidentally cut it down to 12 inches instead of 12.5 inches, I had also misunderstood the swap and was supposed to make 4 Wonky Houses instead of just 1!

Naturally I had more than a few moments of panic as I tried to figure out what on earth I could do. In the end I just grabbed my box of scraps and got sewing. It was late when I finished but I’m really proud of what I managed to come up with.

The block I’d made previously had to be taken apart and re-sewn with a new ‘sky’ and ‘grass’ so that I could make up the extra inches. Thankfully that didn’t take too long and I think I ended up with a better fabric choice anyway.

Here are my final four wonky houses (please excuse the crinkles, these were taken before I attacked them with an iron!):

Wonky House Block 3 Wonky House Block 1 Wonky House Block 2 Wonky House Swap 2015

 

I hope my swap partners like the ones I’ve sewn above – I certainly do! I’m not entirely sure what I’m going to do with the Wonky House Blocks that I receive in return though. They are quirky and fun and I like the look of them all together so maybe a house quilt is in order. If I did that though I think my perfectionist tendencies would kick in and I’d want to have all the ‘grass’ sections line up so it looks as though the houses are on a street all together… I’ll have to see what arrives and go from there!

Leave a comment