Postage Stamp Quilt Swap Conclusion

PSQ Swap Stats

Wow! Wasn’t that swap a lot of fun! I’ve received all but a couple of my swaps now and would like to thank those who sent me in photos of the fabric they received. As you can see from the above photos, quite a wide variety of fabric has been shared – which is exactly why we all love these swaps so much. (At least, that’s the reason I do!)

I thought it would be fun to compile some statistics about the swap so you all know how exciting it has been from my perspective as the person teeing up partners and resolving issues etc.

17 is the number of people who participated in the swap.

7200 is the number of two inch squares that were swapped.

2200 is the number of 1.5 inch squares that were swapped.

65% of swappers were from the USA.

30% of swappers were from Australia.

5% of swappers were from Sweden.

So far we’ve had zero cases of negative feedback and from what I can ascertain a 100% swap arrival rate. However, if you are reading this and are yet to receive your swaps, please allow one more week for them to arrive. Postage internationally can take time and occasionally life gets in the way of mailing humble fabric squares. If your lots haven’t arrived by the 25th of March though, please contact me and I will arrange for more squares to come your way and have a chat with your swap partner.

I learnt a lot about how to run a quilt square swap, particularly in regards to what I need to include in the instructions and how to explain how a swap works. When I run the next swap (yes, there will be another one!) I will be including a photo series of what constitutes a good quality square that is suitable for swapping as there was some confusion/variations in opinion in regards to this. I think this will ensure that everyone is happy with their squares that arrive and will make the swaps even more enjoyable.

I won’t go into everything I discovered here because it will be more useful if I post about that just prior to the next swap. So in the meantime, enjoy your squares, get sewing and don’t forget to keep us all updated about what you’re making. This is what Samantha is working on at the moment:

image

 

It’s called the Trail Mix Pattern and was designed by Mabeth Oxenrider. This particular one above used mainly Civil War Reproduction Fabrics but Samantha is using brighter prints for hers. She is currently piecing 9-patch blocks with a finish size of 3 inches! Very impressive and I’m sure we are all looking forward to seeing the finished product!

I’ll be sharing what I’m doing in next weeks post! If anyone else would like to share their itty bitty square project, please do send in some photos to me: barlow-jess@hotmail.com so we can all enjoy & appreciate your work!

Thank you again to everyone who participated. I’m looking forward to round 2!

One thought on “Postage Stamp Quilt Swap Conclusion

Leave a comment